Trustees and Staff

The Ohioana Library is governed by a Board of Trustees and run by a staff of full-time and part-time employees. Find out more about our trustees and staff below.

Board of Trustees

(As of March 10, 2017)

Ex Officio

  • Karen Waldbillig Kasich


  • Daniel Shuey, President
  • John Sullivan, Vice President
  • Geoffrey Smith, Secretary
  • Lisa Evans, Treasurer
  • Gillian Berchowitz
  • Rudine Sims Bishop
  • Helen F. Bolte
  • Ann M. Bowers
  • Georgeanne Bradford
  • Christopher Duckworth
  • Bryan Loar
  • Louise S. Musser
  • Claudia Plumley
  • Cynthia Puckett
  • Joan V. Schmutzler
  • David Siders
  • Robin Smith
  • John Sullivan
  • Yolanda Danyi Szuch
  • Jacquelyn L. Vaughan
  • Jay Yurkiw


  • Carl J. Denbow, Ph.D.
  • Carol Garner
  • H.C. Buck Niehoff


  • Frances Ott Allen
  • Christina Butler, Ph.D
  • John Gabel
  • James M. Hughes, Ph.D
  • George Knepper, Ph.D
  • Robert Webner


David E. Weaver – Executive DirectorColor photograph (head and shoulders) of David E. Weaver.
David moves into the executive directorship after several years as Ohioana’s Development Director. Before joining Ohioana’s staff in 2005, David held senior development positions with the WOSU Stations and  the Columbus Symphony Orchestra. He also served as executive director of Malabar Farm Foundation and  managing director of Columbus Light Opera, which he co-founded. David is the author of Black Diva of the  Thirties: The Life of Ruby Elzy, published in 2004 by University Press of Mississippi. He attended  Ohio State University and the University of Cincinnati, majoring in voice.

Kathryn Powers – Office Manager 
Kathryn holds a B.A. in English from Ohio University, graduating summa cum laude in 2007. Prior to joining Ohioana, Kathryn worked as  an Administrative Assistant for a Columbus accounting firm, but her first love is literature and writing. She is a board  member and Membership Coordinator of the Central Ohio Chapter of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.

Library Specialist – Courtney Brown

Program Assistant – Morgan Peters

Editor – Leslie Birdwell Shortlidge